Keepin’ Busy

I have been very busy the last couple of days with fundraising for MS Run the US. I rented a table in the student commons area of my university to display my poster board and literature for MS Run the US. I also was able to get local businesses to donate gift cards to raffle off to raise donations. I have been at the table for the last two days, 4 hours a day. It has been incredible to see the support coming from students. I have heard very inspirational stories of people with MS, including a man whose wife has MS, and a lady with neighbors who have it. It is things like this that keep me going on those long runs, and I am so glad to be able to do what I love to make a difference in the lives of people who are so close to home.  A fraternity on campus, Alpha Tao Omega, ATO, is walking 160 miles over spring break to raise money for MS, which was a very cool effort to hear about. The brothers were supportive of MS Run the US and donated to the cause. I wish them all luck and thank them for helping both my cause and supporting it by their own doings. Some people even were stopping and asking me for training advice for a first 5k or 10k! It’s a cool feeling to be looked upon with that kind of respect. I hope I can inspire those people to get into running; who knows, maybe they with get as hooked as I am.

There has been a severe winter warning the past 24 hours here, with 60mph winds and temps at -15. It has kept me indoors, as I am not THAT tolerant of Michigan’s shinanegans. I had to sneak into a rec center in one of the off-campus apartments last night. I refused to even walk to the campus rec in the wind like that. It was blowing what was essentially micro-shards of ice from the thaw-and-freeze snow. It’s sunny out today though, and I should be able to get a run in outside without much of a problem.

The plan has it right now to do a 40 mile trainer during the week next week with one of my buddies. Hopefully plans stay how they are and we are able to do that. I’m looking forward to the distance.

Sunday I accidentally ate some 4-month expired yogurt bites cereal and had some terrible food poisoning for the next day. It kept me in bed. I was especially upset that that was the same day my new hydration vest came in the mail, and all I wanted to do was try it out and go get in some distance.  I couldn’t even make it out the door… All is better now though. I felt human the next day and have been pounding out the miles since.

See you on the trails-

Donate @ firstgiving.com/fundraiser/BrandonYonke/msruntheus2014relay

Leave a Reply

